Four states – Lagos, Kano, Akwa Ibom and Edo as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) accounted for the 30 Coronavirus (COVID-19) cases confirmed Tuesday night by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC).

Lagos, which recorded 25 of the fresh cases, earlier announced the discharge of nine patients from its Infectious Disease Hospital (IDH), Yaba. Two of the cases were recorded in the FCT while Kano, Akwa Ibom and Edo states have one case each. Twenty states and Abuja now have COVID-19 cases.

Ninety-nine of the infected persons have been treated and discharged while 11 deaths have been recorded, the NCDC said.

Announcing the discharge of the eight patients, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu tweeted: "More great news today (yesterday) from our Mainland Infectious Disease Hospital, Yaba.

"Eight more people – two females and six males – have tested negative and fully recovered from #COVID19. They have been discharged to return to their families.

"This brings the number of patients successfully managed and discharged from our facilities to 69.

"Please, let us continue to adhere to all the safety advice from our health experts."


StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: