A former member of the House of Representatives, Hon Ben Nwankwo and 79 other prominent Nigerians were on Thursday inaugurated as members of Prof. Charles Soludo Transition Committee. 

The committee headed by former Minister of Education, Oby Ezekwesili was inaugurated at Golden Tulip Hotel, Agulu in Anambra on Thursday amidst high expectations by the Anambra State Governor-elect, Prof. Charles Soludo. 

Hon. Nwankwo who twice served in the House of Representatives representing Orumba North/South Federal Constituency (2003 to 2007 & 2011 to 2015), both under the platform of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) made the list of the carefully selected Transition Committee members. 

Among other things, they are expected to work out modalities to aid easy transition from the governor Willie Obiano-led exco to the incoming state executive Council to be led by the Governor-elect, Prof. Charles Soludo. 

The Transition Committee according to Joe Anatune, Media Assistant to the Anambra State Governor-Elect, Chukwuma C. Soludo will also liaise with a team set up by the government of Anambra State to ensure a seamless transition from the Governor Willie Obiano’s administration to a Chukwuma Charles Soludo-led administration as from 17th March, 2022. 

Members were selected based on their achievements in their various fields of endeavour and across political parties and states to set a strong footing for the incoming administration. 

Hon. Nwankwo, an Orumba born successful businessman, an administrator, politician and lawmaker is expected to bring to fore his reach managerial experience in the committee which is expected to form about 28 sub-committees. 

Hon. Nwankwo worked as a Special Adviser to The Governor of Anambra State from 1999 to 2000. He also worked as a Commissioner in the State, serving in three different ministries; Works & Transport (2001-2002), Housing & Urban Development (2002-2003) and Finance & Budget (2002-2003).

There is no doubt that he is a perfect fit for the quantum of assignment the Transition Committee is expected to carry out. 

There are indications that the Committee will go beyond just producing a blueprint for the transition to monitoring progress of the incoming government in its first 100 days in office. 

Inaugurating the Committee, the Governor-Elect, Prof. Soludo, expressed gratitude to the people he described as wise men and women for accepting to pay service to the state. 

He said, "This committee comprises some of Nigeria’s best, and Anambra is deeply grateful that you are sacrificing your time and talent pro bono, to help our journey to a liveable and prosperous smart city.

"This is a friendly transition, it is an APGA government to APGA government, and we expect nothing except the level of cooperation expected among members of a family. And that we are having this at this transition committee jointly, being inaugurated, speaks eloquently. It is almost like a combined transition committee and it is a testimony that this is a family affair.

"Some commentators have observed that the number of the transition committee is large in their estimation, even without seeing the terms of reference, or the task, or that the members are offering their time and talent without remuneration as it were.

"Some were already computing the amount of money that each of you would be paid. If Anambra accepts to pay or remunerate the calibre of people here, I’m sure even a world bank facility would not help us. Despite those observations, I must advise that you should feel absolutely free to bring anyone else that you feel can bring great value to this work" he said. 

See full list of members 

1) Mrs Oby Ezekwesili (Chairperson)

2) Prof. Benedict Okey Oramah

3) Rt. Hon. Uche Okafor

4) Prof. Pat Utomi

5) Prof. Chidi Odinkalu

6) Mr. Steve Nworga

7) Chief Osita Chidoka

(8) Hon (Dr) Ben Nwankwo

9) Hon Charles Odedo

10) Barr Tony Ifeanya 

11) Mr. Ferdinand Agu 

12) Prof. Osita Ogbu 

13) Chief Chikwe Udensi 

14) Dr. Greg Ibe  

15) Dr. Alex Otti 

16) Mr. Coleman Uba  

17) Chief Collins Chikeluba 

18) Engr (Sir) Chris Okoye 

19) Prof. (Mrs) Uche Amazigo 

20) Barrister Pat. Ikwueto, SAN 

21) Dr. Olisa Agbakoba, SAN 

22) Barrister Echezona Etiaba, SAN 

23) Prof. Offornze Amucheazi, SAN 

24) Engr. Emeka Ezeh 

25) Chief Leon C. Mezue 

26) Hon Chike Anyaonu 

27) Hon Evarist Uba 

28) Dr. P.C.J Adibe 

29) Chief Akachukwu Nwankpo 

30) Dr. Mefor Law 

31) Dr. Alex Obiogbolu 

32) Dr Godwin Owoh 

33) Dr. Greg Ugochukwu Ezeilo 

34) Mr. Epundu Emechebe 

35) Mr. Christian Udechukwu 

36) Chinyere Ossy Okoye, Esq 

37) Chief Don Eze 

38) Mr. Chijioke Uwaegbute --- PWC 

39) Mr. Franklin Edochie  

40) Mr. Dozie Okpalaobieri  

41) Ms Nkoli Anyaoku 

42) Ms Uche Onwuamaegbu 

43) Mr. Innocent Isichei 

44) Mr. George Nwangwu 

45) Mr. Ikechukwu Nweje 

46) Dr. Innocent Okpanum 

47) Arc Henry Arize 

48) Dr. Will Fleury

49) Barrister Udu – Former Head of Service 

50) Dr. Emma Ezenwaji 

51) Prof. Phil Phil-Eze  

52) Mr. Joe Anatune 

53) Mr. Ike Chioke 

54) Prof. Ifedioramma Eugene-Mary Nwana 

55) Mr. Emma Onyilofor 

56) Ms Prisca-Anne Nwangwu 

57) Ms Chinwe Jane Okoli 

58) Mrs Amaka Obi 

59) Fred Chukwuemeka Agbata 

60) Mr. Chinedu Nwoye 

61) Dr. Nelson Omenugha 

62) Prof. Nkechi Ikediugwu 

63) Prof. Ike Uzochukwu 

64) Dr. Emeka Okeke

65) Dr. Polycarp Emenike

66) Dr. Godwin Nnadozie

67) Engr. Ifeanyi Okeoma

68) Amb Uche Ajulu-Okeke

69) Chief Pat Ubajaka

70) Prof. Okey Ikeanyibe

71) Comrade Charles Onyeagba

72) Prof. Au Nnonyelu

73) Dr. Forster E. Ihejiofor

74) Mr. Odera Ozoka

75) Mr. ThankGod Ibeh

76) Prof. Sylvia Chika Ifemeje

77) Mr. Kanayo Nwafor

78) Comrade Churchill Okonkwo

79) Sir Damian Okolo

80) Dr. Chinedu Onyeizugbe



StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: