The results of the election for chairmanship in the six area councils of the federal capital territory (FCT) conducted on Saturday have started trickling in.

Unlike in the 36 states where state electoral commissions conduct the council elections, the FCT council election is conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to the electoral umpire, 14 political parties and 472 candidates participated in the poll.

They include Action Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), African Action Congress (AAC) and Labour Party (LP).

They competed for 62 councillorship and six chairmanship seats.

The election was conducted in over 60 wards spread across Bwari, Abaji, Gwagwalada, Kuje, Kwali and Abuja Municipal Council (AMAC) area councils of the FCT.

Below are the results so far declared:


Shekwogaza Gabaya, candidate of the PDP, defeated Audi Shekwolo of the APC in Bwari chairmanship election.

Gabaya, who has been re-elected for a second term, polled 13,045 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Shekwolo who garnered 7,697 votes.

Amuche Madu, INEC returning/collation officer for Bwari area council, announced the results on Sunday morning.

"Shekwogaza Gabaya of PDP, having certified the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected," Madu said.


The electoral umpire has declared Suleman Sabo of the PDP winner of Kuje area council chairmanship election in the FCT.

Sabo, an incumbent chairman, floored his closest rival, Sarki Hamidu of the APC in all the 10 wards of the area council.

Sabo got 13,301 votes to defeat Hamidu of the APC who polled 7,694 votes.

Sule Magaji, INEC returning officer for Kuje area council, announced the final results on Sunday morning.


Jubrin Abubakar, candidate of the APC, has been declared the winner of the chairmanship poll in Gwagwalada area council.

Abubakar defeated his rival, Mohammed Kassim of the PDP.

He was declared winner of the exercise by ID Umar, INEC returning officer for Gwagwalada area council.

He secured 11,125 votes while Kassim polled 9,597 votes.


StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: