On October 1st, 1960, the Federal Republic of Nigeria won its freedom from the British Empire. Pointing out that Nigeria has grown to be a crucial nation on the African continent is crucial. Let's carefully pinpoint the Nigerian state that was colonized by the British before the rest of the nation.

1. Lagos State

Lagos formally became a British colony on August 6, 1861, according to This Day Newspaper. However, according to The Guardian, Britain conquered Lagos in 1851.

Before other states in the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Lagos State was colonized by Britain. Due to Britain's complete dominance over Nigeria following the Berlin Conference in 1885, this is the case. British Broadcasting Corporation has verified these facts. Other regions of Nigeria reportedly became a British colony after the Berlin conference in 1885, according to the British Broadcasting Corporation. The Berlin Conference, it should be noted, took place from November 1884 to February 1885.

What's your opinion on this article? Kindly share your thoughts in the comment section below.


StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: