The inaugural session of the 10th Kwara State House of Assembly held in Ilorin on Tuesday, with Speaker Salihu Yakubu Danladi re-elected as the speaker for the second term.

He urged fellow lawmakers to justify the confidence reposed in them by their constituents and get to work immediately, to ensure ''effective and efficient performance of their constitutional responsibilities.

Danladi who won a second term in March this year, said Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq had provided good governance in the state in the last four years, adding that "we are proud of him and we will give his administration the needed legislative support."

He said the responsibility of overseeing the Ninth House of Assembly was placed on his shoulders four years ago and choosing him as head of the Tenth House of Assembly was therefore a reassurance of a vote of confidence and support for what he had done for the people of Kwara State.

He thanked members of the House of Assembly for electing him as Speaker, describing it as a demonstration of great trust and confidence in his leadership.

He urged them to use the opportunity of their membership of the House of Assembly to foster unity and progress and promote peace and good governance, noting that though the challenges ahead are enormous, Governor Abdulrazaq has laid a sound foundation through his visionary leadership.

Yakubu Salihu Danladi, who was unanimously re-elected, was nominated by Abdullahi Halidu Danbaba of Kaiama state constituency at exactly 10.56am and the nomination was seconded by Arinola Lawal.

Ojo Oyebode Olayiwola of Oke- Ogun state constituency was also elected as Deputy Speaker, to replace Raphael Adetiba, who lost his seat.

Olayiwola was nominated by Hon Razaq Olatunde Owolabi of the Share/Oke-Ode state constituency.

The Magaji Family in the Agbo-Oba area of Ilorin also had the House Leader position retained by them as a member of the family, Oba Abdulkadri Magaji of Ilorin Central state constituency, was named as the new House Leader.

His elder brother, Magaji Abubakar Olawoyin was until his death on Monday, January 9, 2023, the House Leader.

Abolarin Ganiyu of Ekiti state constituency is the new Chief Whip, Medinah Abdulraheem, Deputy House Leader and Yusuf Mariam Aladi; Deputy Chief Whip.

The inaugural session was attended by former speakers; Bio Ibrahim, Babatunde Mohammed, Benjamin Isa, traditional rulers and political bigwigs including, Anthony Towoju and Otunba Taiye Joseph.



StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: