President Bola Tinubu has charged state governors to deliver good governance to the citizens.
He gave the charge on Thursday when he inaugurated the National Economic Council (NEC), headed by Vice President Kashim Shettima.

All 36 State governors, among other officials, are members of the Council.

He said the governors have no excuse for failure as they all begged, campaigned and even danced to be elected during the 2023 electioneering campaigns.

According to him, Nigerians wanted reforms and desired it quickly.

The President charged the Council to support his administration in transforming the economic fortunes of the country.

He called for collaborations, saying such is not a crime.

After the inauguration, the Council is currently holding its inaugural meeting at the State House, Abuja.

LEADERSHIP reporst that the NEC meets monthly and has the mandate to "advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation."

Membership of the NEC comprises of the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and other co-opted government officials.

Those in attendance as at the time the NEC meeting commenced were governors of Kwara State, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun State, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi State, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti State,  Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa State, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom State, Umo Eno, and Enugu State, Peter Mbah.

Others included govenrors of Cross River State, Bassey Otu; Plateau State, Caleb Mutfwang; Kebbi State, Nasir Idris; Katsina State, Umar Dikko Radda, and Benue State, Hycinth Alia.

Also in attendance were governors of Zamfara State, Dauda Lawal; Ogun State, Dapo Abiodun; Anambra State, Charles Soludo; Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni; Taraba State, Agbu Kefas; Gombe State, Inuwa Yahaya; Delta State, Sheriff Oborevwori; Rivers State, Siminalayi Fubara; Niger State, Mohammed Bago, and Sokoto State, Ahmed Aliyu.

Others were Ebonyi State, Francis Nwifuru; Kaduna State, Uba Sani; Edo State, Godwin Obaseki; Abia State, Alex Otti; Bayelsa State, Douye Diri; Kano State, Abba Yusuf; Bauchi State, Bala Mohammed; Oyo State, Seyi Makinde; acting governor of Ondo State, Lucky Ayedatiwa, and deputy governor of Borno State, Umar Kadafur.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume; Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Mele Kyari; acting Accountant General of the Federation, Oluwatoyin Madein; acting Governor of CBN, Folashodun Shonubi; Permanent Secretaries in the Ministries of Budget and National Planning; Federal Capital Territory Administration, and State House, were also present at the ongoing meeting.


StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: