Abujapress reports that the newly appointed Service Chiefs have stormed the National Assembly.

The service chiefs, on Thursday arrived the National Assembly for confirmation of their appointments in line with parliamentary rules.

The top security Chiefs who are four in number were nominated by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu after which he sent their names to the Senate for confirmation.

The Service Chiefs are:

Major General Christopher G Musa – Chief of Defence Staff

Major General T.A Lagbaja – Chief of Army Staff

Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla – Chief Naval Staff

Air Vice Marshal H. B. Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff

The top military brass arrived the National Assembly Complex at about 10.00am on Thursday for an appointment that was scheduled for 11.00am.

Nigeria’s Senate President, Godswill Obot Akpabío acknowledged their presence during the plenary.

After their presence was acknowledged by the red Chamber through a motion moved by the Senate Leader, Senator Michael Bamidele Opeyemi, Senate President suspended the rules to enable the Chamber attend to them.

Opeyemi said: “That the Senate do consider the request of Mr President and Commander-in -Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the confirmation of the nomination of Service Chiefs.”.

The visitors to the upper legislative Chamber took turns to introduce themselves before the Chamber dissolved into a Committee of the whole behind closed doors.



StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: