Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, has sworn in the nine ‘returnee’ commissioners who were recently screened and confirmed by the House of Assembly led by Martins Amaewhule.

The nine commissioners who are known loyalists of the Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, resigned their various appointments in the heat of the face off between Governor Fubara and his predecessor, Wike.

They are however rejoining the Fubara’s administration as part of the peace deal brokered by President Bola Tinubu.

Swearing in the Commissioners at the Government House, Port Harcourt, Friday, Fubara said it was imperative for them to engage in activities for which they would be positively remembered by posterity.

Observing that they have already read the charge as contained in their oath of office, Governor Fubara enjoined them to uphold and defend the constitution.

“I wish you well in your coming back. Stand for justice, and stand for the interest of our dear state. That is the purpose of your appointment and that is the truth.

“I can see how heavy your hearts are. But I assure you that I don’t have anything against anyone of you. You were caught in between during the crossfire.”

Governor Fubara spoke further: “I will advise that you give your best. Like I said the first time, let this State and posterity remember you for what is good.”

The confirmed commissioners are Prof Zacchaeus Adangor, Dr Jacobson Nbina, Dr Gift Worlu, Mrs Inimefien Aguma, Chukwuemeka Woke, Prof Chinedu Mmom, Dr Dakorinama George -Kelly, Isaac Kamalu, and Mr Ben Chioma.




StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: