President Bola Tinubu has bestowed the Member of the Order of the Niger (MON) national distinction on the Super Eagles squad in recognition of their outstanding performance at the just ended AFCON 2023 tournament in Ivory Coast.

They were also awarded one flat and a plot of land in the Federal Capital Territory.

Nigeria came in second place, losing the trophy to the hosts, who were ultimately champions.

The Nigerian team were received at the State House on Tuesday where they were conferred with the titles.

All the team members and officials were in attendance including Alex Iwobi, who had faced cyber-attacks over the loss to Ivory Coast.

They now join the ranks of imam Abdullahi Abubakar, HRM Eze Isaac Ikonne, Dr. Faisal Shuaibu, Chief Silva Ejeh Ameh, Alh. Kamoru Ibitoye Yusuf, Mallam Ibrahim Okposi, Alhaji Shehu Uthman, Barr. Chris Ezem, Davido and Teni to have received the national honours.

More details shortly…



StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: