The Senate President Godswill Akpabio swore in three senators on Tuesday, February 13, who had just won by-elections within their respective senatorial districts.

The newly elected senators are Mustapha Musa (All Progressives Congress, APC, Yobe East), Professor Anthony Ani (All Progressives Congress, APC, Ebonyi South), and Prince Pam Mwadkon (Action Democratic Party, ADP, Plateau North). They represent a variety of political parties and districts.

The Clerk to the Senate, Chinedu Akubueze led the new Senators to take their oaths of office and oath of allegiance, on the orders of the Senate President.

They were subsequently led to their respective seats after the swearing-in by Sergeant-At-Arms.

With the swearing-in of the three new senators, the number of lawmakers in the Senate and their political parties are as follows: APC – 59, PDP – 37, LP – 7, NNPP – 2, SDP – 2, APGA 1 and ADP – 1.




StatePress is an online newspaper with wide and extensive coverage of socio political events in the Nigerian States, African Continent and beyond.  We break the news, focus on issues without bias and maintain highest level of professionalism in discharging our social responsibility.

Post A Comment: